Stat Holidays in BC

The eleven statutory holidays in B.C. are New Years Day, Family Day, Good Friday, Victoria Day, Canada Day, BC Day, Labour Day, Truth and Reconciliation Day, Thanksgiving, Remembrance Day and Christmas Day.

Easter Sunday, Easter Monday, and Boxing Day are not statutory holidays in B.C.

To be eligible for statutory holiday pay, an employee must:

  • Have been employed for 30 calendar days before the statutory holiday.
  • Have worked or earned wages for 15 of the 30 days immediately before the statutory holiday.*
  • Vacation days count as days worked when determining entitlement to a statutory holiday, and vacation pay counts as wages earned when calculating the amount of statutory holiday pay.

* Employees who work under an averaging agreement or variance at any time in the 30 days before the holiday do not have to meet the 15-day

Working on a statutory holiday.

An eligible employee who works on a statutory holiday is entitled to:

  • Time-and-a-half for the first 12 hours worked.
  • Double-time for any work over 12 hours.
  • PLUS an average day's pay. *

* An average day's pay is calculated by dividing total wages in the 30 calendar days before the statutory holiday by the number of days worked. Total wages include wages, commissions, statutory holiday pay, and vacation pay, but does not include overtime pay.

Additional statutory holiday information

  • When a statutory holiday falls on a non-working day, an eligible employee is entitled to an average day's pay.
  • An employee who is not eligible for the statutory holiday, and who works on the holiday, may be paid as if it were a regular workday and is not entitled to an average day's pay if the statutory holiday falls on a day off.
  • An employer and an employee or employees can agree to substitute another day off for a statutory holiday. The Act and Regulation apply to the substitute day as if it were a statutory holiday.